Trashed posts must be restored to be viewed

On a multisite installation, I accidentally published to the wrong blog. I trashed the misdirected post and then went into the trash so I could view the post and copy its content over to the new post. I saw no way to view a trashed post other than restoring it. I restored the post. I peeked at the front page. There it was, once again published. I changed the status to draft, copied the content, and then did Preview Changes from the editor so that I could save the images from a front page view since there are no handy image download links available to an editor flow.

The misdirected post was published from the iOS app. I  misdirect posts less often since the blog switcher moved top left, but I still sometimes send a post the wrong way. I was working with two blogs at the same time. When image blogging I’ll go through a weeks worth of stuff in the camera roll and send them to one of a few sites. I also direct batches of WordPress related posts to one of a few sites. Those are the two scenarios where I mis-post most often. Cleaning up after misdirected posts is a pain on Publicized sites. I have to go to Twitter, Facebook, and elsewhere to clean up. Being stymied by the lack of preview for Trash is part of the pain. I had to abandon my mobile session and find a laptop to clean up after one misdirected post.

 

How do I view/edit a trashed post?

How do I view/edit a trashed post?

 

https://core.trac.wordpress.org/ticket/15930