Using User Notes

User Notes are how we keep records on particular users when necessary. These notes generally include reasons why a particular user was blocked or flagged, or specific things to watch out for when interacting with the particular user.

There are two rules for User Notes:

  • Make your note as detailed as possible, but don’t write a novel. We want to know why you left a particular note on a particular user without having to ping you for more info, but we don’t want to spend all day reading it either.
  • Please add notes if necessary, rather than editing or deleting someone else’s notes. Each note is timestamped and lists who added it, and each user can have multiple notes. This will allow us to keep a running history of a particular user, rather than wiping out their history each time we want to add to it.

Leaving a User Note is simple. All you need to do is open the user’s forum profile, or click “Toggle user notes” next to the user when viewing a topic, and fill in the User Notes field. Again, please make your note as detailed as possible, but don’t write a novel.

The resulting note is timestamped and lists who added it. The note can also be edited or deleted. Again, each user can have multiple notes, so please add notes if necessary, rather than editing or deleting someone else’s notes.