Agenda for the polyglots chat today 13:00 UTC (9:00 EDT, 15:00 CET, 20:00 ICT, 22:00 JST)

Just a quick reminder that we’re going to have a polyglots chat today at 13:00 UTC (9:00 EDT, 15:00 CET, 20:00 ICT, 22:00 JST).

The agenda for the chat is similar to the one we had last week (summary here) so we can go through the important things with those who couldn’t attend last Wednesday:

  • We’re now at 50 localizations of WordPress 4.0! How do we scale to 100+ languages, both technically (GlotPressGlotPress GlotPress is the translation management software that powers Translate.WordPress.org. More information is available at glotpress.org.) and process-wise?
  • WordCampWordCamp WordCamps are casual, locally-organized conferences covering everything related to WordPress. They're one of the places where the WordPress community comes together to teach one another what they’ve learned throughout the year and share the joy. Learn more. SF & community summit are almost here. What do we want to talk about with the community?
  • We’re going to have 20+ polyglots at the summit. What projects should we work on/finish while there?
  • Hopefully learn a bit about the progress of GlotPress profiles and the RosettaRosetta The code name of the theme for the local WordPress sites (eg. bg.wordpress.org is a “Rosetta” site). All locale specific WordPress sites are referred to as “Rosetta sites.” The name was inspired from the ancient Rosetta Stone, which contained more or less the same text in three different languages. bbPressbbPress Free, open source software built on top of WordPress for easily creating forums on sites. https://bbpress.org. theme from @defries and @markoheijnen.

The chat will be in #WordPress-polyglots on IRC.

See you there!

#polyglots-meeting

Polyglots Chat this Wednesday at 13:00 UTC

Hello everyone!

We’re going to have a polyglots chat this Wednesday at 13:00 UTC (9:00 EDT, 15:00 CET, 20:00 ICT, 22:00 JST).

I know it’s short notice, so we’ll do again next week at the same time.

Some things to think about ahead of our chat:

  • We’re now at 50 localizations of WordPress 4.0! How do we scale to 100+ languages, both technically (GlotPressGlotPress GlotPress is the translation management software that powers Translate.WordPress.org. More information is available at glotpress.org.) and process-wise?
  • WordCampWordCamp WordCamps are casual, locally-organized conferences covering everything related to WordPress. They're one of the places where the WordPress community comes together to teach one another what they’ve learned throughout the year and share the joy. Learn more. SF is coming up, along with the community summit. Who’s planning on attending?
  • The first day of the community summit is an unconference-style day. What topics do we want to talk about with the community?
  • Also at WCSF, we’ll have a couple of days afterwards to talk about polyglots and work together. What things should we accomplish? Is there a project that would be easy and worthwhile to complete over the two days?

See you on Wednesday!

Edit: I forgot to mention that the chat will be in #WordPress-polyglots on IRC.

#chat, #polyglots, #polyglots-meeting

Chat set for today at 22:00 UTC #wordpress…

Chat set for today at 22:00 UTC, #wordpress-polyglots on IRC