WP Translation Day organisers FAQ

Dear #WPTranslationDay event organisers,

The event is coming this Saturday and on behalf of the whole team, I’d like to say thank you for doing this for the global community and for your local community too. WP Translation Day is our global contributor dayContributor Day Contributor Days are standalone days, frequently held before or after WordCamps but they can also happen at any time. They are events where people get together to work on various areas of https://make.wordpress.org/ There are many teams that people can participate in, each with a different focus. https://2017.us.wordcamp.org/contributor-day/ https://make.wordpress.org/support/handbook/getting-started/getting-started-at-a-contributor-day/., a chance to spend time together, get to know each other and give back to WordPress. It wouldn’t be possible without you all. You are amazing.

Here is a list of useful tips and frequently asked questions for you. Read it carefully, it has information that’s important for you. If you want to ask anything else, please do it in the #Polyglots channel on SlackSlack Slack is a Collaborative Group Chat Platform https://slack.com/. The WordPress community has its own Slack Channel at https://make.wordpress.org/chat/. or in the #Event-organisers channel on the WPTranslationDay Slack.

How should I start the day?

Start your day by explaining to the people at your event how the Polyglots teamPolyglots Team Polyglots Team is a group of multilingual translators who work on translating plugins, themes, documentation, and front-facing marketing copy. https://make.wordpress.org/polyglots/teams/. runs. If you don’t have experience, this slide deck will give you all the information you need: View and download Presentation: Introduction to the WordPress Polyglots team

Where can I look if I need information about the team?

The Polyglots handbook is your best friend. You will find an answer to almost any question you have on https://make.wordpress.org/polyglots/handbook/

What are the first things new contributors should do during the day?

Here’s a list of things you need to help new contributors with:

  1. Register an account on WordPress.org
  2. Sign into Slack with their new account from http://chat.wordpress.org and join the #Polyglots
  3. Login to http://translate.wordpress.org, find their language and translate

Check out the First steps and Getting started at contributor day handbook pages for more instruction.

Which project should we translate?

Start with WordPress 4.7 development stringsString A string is a translatable part of the software. A translation consists of a multitude of localized strings. and Twenty Seventeen. Our primary goal for this WP Translation Day is to prepare 4.7 for launch.

When these are done, advise your attendees to start translating a pluginPlugin A plugin is a piece of software containing a group of functions that can be added to a WordPress website. They can extend functionality or add new features to your WordPress websites. WordPress plugins are written in the PHP programming language and integrate seamlessly with WordPress. These can be free in the WordPress.org Plugin Directory https://wordpress.org/plugins/ or can be cost-based plugin from a third-party or a theme they are using – it’s always better for them to start with a project they’re familiar with

Where is the Glossary/Style guide for my language?

If your locale has a Glossary or Style guide published, it will be listed on this page: Glossaries and style guides per locale

If your locale doesn’t have a glossary or a style guide, please refer to the General Expectations when translating: https://make.wordpress.org/polyglots/handbook/translating/expectations/. You can also look up glossaries of your language by other Open SourceOpen Source Open Source denotes software for which the original source code is made freely available and may be redistributed and modified. Open Source **must be** delivered via a licensing model, see GPL. projects like GNU or Mozilla.

Where can I find the WP TranslationDay Live streaming?

There will be live sessions during translation day on i18nInternationalization Internationalization (sometimes shortened to I18N , meaning “I - eighteen letters -N”) is the process of planning and implementing products and services so that they can easily be adapted to specific local languages and cultures, a process called localization. This is the process of making software translatable. Information about Internationalization for developers can be found in the Developer’s handbooks. & L10nLocalization Localization (sometimes shortened to "l10n") is the process of adapting a product or service to a particular language, culture, and desired local "look-and-feel.". The live streaming starts at 0:00 UTC. You can stream it live in your event and it would be lovely if you appeared in one of our community sessions and joined lived from your meetupMeetup All local/regional gatherings that are officially a part of the WordPress world but are not WordCamps are organized through https://www.meetup.com/. A meetup is typically a chance for local WordPress users to get together and share new ideas and seek help from one another. Searching for ‘WordPress’ on meetup.com will help you find options in your area.. See the schedule at https://www.crowdcast.io/e/gwtd2/1 and contact us if you’d like to jump in during the live session.

How can I share what’s going on during my event?

We gather all the social buzz on https://wptranslationday.org/real-time/ so use the hashtag #WPTranslationDay for your pictures and tweets you share and they will appear on the page. We would love to see images, video and info from your local event. The page should aggregate content from all social networks.

What is the hashtag again?

#WPTranslationDay

Where should I ask if there’s something I don’t know?

As an event organiser, we highly recommend for you to be in the #Polyglots Slack channel during the day. If you haven’t signed up for Slack yet, please do at http://chat.wordpress.org


Trisha Cornelius (trisha_cornelius)
Jonathan Bosssenger (@psykro)
Dasun Edirisinghe , (@dazunj)
Naoko Takano(@nao)
Rahul Bansal (@rahul286)
Jon Ang (@kenshino)
Junko Nukaga (@nukaga)
Aum Watcharapon (@aumkub)Carl Alberto (@carl-alberto)
Seokmoon Jang (@devssay)
Takenori Okashita (@gouten5010)
Dreb Bits (@drebbits)
Vachan Kudmule (@vachan)
Audi Lu (@mrmu)
Yogesh Londhe (@yoga1103)
Katz Ueno (@katz515)
Makarand Mane (@mkrndmane)
Bigul Malayi @mbigul
Rajan (@rajanit2000)
Takayuki Miyoshi (@takayukister)
Hidetaka Okamoto (@hideokamoto)
Takayuki Miyaichi (@miyauchi)
Harshad Mane (@bornforphp)
Siddharth AShok (@siddr)
Emre Erkan (@wordpress-tr)
Soykan Ataman (@aproxa)
Ajit Bohra (@ajitbohra)
Varun Dubey ( @vapvarun )
Outhai SAIOUDOM ( @os555 )
Abhishek Deshpande (@fitehal)
Chun (@mxp)
Vladimir Petkov (@kldn)
Yuliana Yurieva (@yumito)
Petya Raykovska (@petya)
Daniele Scasciafratte (@mte90)
Jurica Zuanovic (@yuraz)
Stefan Kremer (@stk_jj)
Marin Atanasov ( @tyxla)
Nemanja Cimbaljevic (@nemanjac)
Peter Nemcok (@savione)
Luis Rull (@luisrull)
FX Bénard (fxbenard)
Fernando Serer (@fserer)
Pascal Birchler @swissspidy
Dmitry Mayorov @iamdmitrymayorov
Marcin Kilarski (@marcin)
Francesco Di Candia (@francescodicandia)
Laura Sacco (@lasacco)
Adrian Pop (@adrianpop)
Francesco Grasso (@francgrasso)
Giustino Borzacchiello (@jubstuff)
Carola Speri (@carriedesign)
Bernhard Kau (@Kau-Boy)
Anda Pop (@andapop)
Aleksandar Predić (@siemens82)
Fernando Tellado (@fernandot)
Daniel Koskinen (@daniel-koskinen)
Takis Bouyouris (@takis)
Evangelos Athanasiadis (@dyrer)
Sergey Biryukov (@SergeyBiryukov)
Birgit Pauli-Haack (@bph)
Miguel Useche (@skatox)
Seagyn Davis (@seags)
Hugh Lashbrooke (@hlashbrooke)
Susumu Seino (@musus)
Robert Sim (@robertsky)
Shinichi Nishikawa (@shinichiN)
Kazama (@kazama)
Chiharu Nagatomi ( @luchino_ )
Vishal Mukadam (@vishalmukadam)
Alexander Gounder (@gounder)”
Dhanendran (@dhanendran)
Toyohiko Asai (@hikobey), Yasuhiro Nozue (@noz_web), Michinari Odajima (@michouse), Takashi Ono (@onocom), Hidekazu Ishikawa (@kurudrive), Takashi Kumagami (@kuma2515)
Nithin K R, Harishanker, Abhilash E N and Jagadeep, David Vinoth( @infinitewp ), Naveen Kumar ( @cnaveenkumar ) Saravanan ( @simplysaru )
Abhishek Prabhu (@abyshakes), Emre Erkan (@wordpress-tr), Jayman Pandya (@jaymanpandya), Sandeep Singh ( @wbcomdesigns ), Douangtavanh ( @douangtavanh )
Vladimir Petkov (@kldn)
Emanuel Blagonic (@emanuel_blagonic)
Patrick Ullrich (@patrick.ullrich)
Andreas Beck (@andreasbeck)”
Stanimir Stoyanov ( @sstoyanov )
Milos Mihaljevic (@sodainc)
Lucy Tomas (@lucymtc), Sergio Nieto (@snieto)
Ella Iseulde Van Dorpe @iseulde
Konstantin Kovshenin @kovshenin
Francesco Cozzi (@francoz), Antonio Moschetta (@antoniomoschetta)
Cristiano Zanca (@cristianozanca), Oleg Belousovs (@oleg), Thomas Vitale (@thomasvitale)
Antonino Scarfì (@antoscarface), Guido Scialfa (@wido)
Valeria Marolda (@pjska) Dennis Ploetner (@realloc) @Giovanni Invernizzi (@paperplane) Simona Simionato (@simo70)
Mattia Migliorini (@deshack)
Maja Benke (@travel_girl)
Val Vesa (@tinuzzo)
Milan Djordjević (@p7rot3ch)
Pablo López Mestre (@pablolopezmestre)
Kostas Vrouvas (@kosvrouvas)
Jordi Cuevas (@jordicuevas)

Thank you everyone! Until Saturday!

#local-events