Docs Chat: Feb. 20, 2014

Thank you to everyone who came. For anyone unable to attend, you can read the logs here.

The following is a summary of the topics that were discussed.

1. DevHub: Progress continues. Most of the template work for the code reference is done for the moment. @Rarst now has commit access to the parser repo, and will be working on changes needed for parsing the inline docs. @nlarnold1 is working on resolving issues with the handbook theme.

2. Docs Issue Tracker: @samuelsidler said we should have an initial version soon.

3. AH-O2: Per @jazzs3quence, @brainfork will be working on redoing the help overviews due to a display issue. Work continues on adding tooltips. Version 0.6 was released Thursday – please test and provide feedback to the team. (2/17/2014 team meeting summary)

4. Docs Project Landing Pages: Landing pages were created for the Codex, DevHub, and Handbooks projects. The Code Reference falls under DevHub, and will be included there. @siobhan will be adding information to the DevHub landing page, and @hanni will be populating the Handbooks landing page.

I’ll be pulling together a to-do list of outstanding Codex tasks to include in the Codex section. We also need to look at putting together a list of Codex updates needed for the 3.9 release in mid-April.

5. Handbooks: @hanni posted the detailed plans for the Handbooks project this week.

There is now a weekly IRC chat for the Handbooks team – Thursday at 1:00 UTC (5pm PST, 6pm MST, 8pm EST on Wednesday) in #wordpress-sfd. The team held their first meeting on 2/19/2014.

@blobaugh is the new editor of the Plugin Developer Handbook, and is working with @hanni on a revised outline. There are also several new contributors eager to get started writing.

@sewmyheadon is the editor of the Theme Developer Handbook, and will be working with new contributors @philiparthurmoore and @nudge to move that handbook toward completion.

More contributors are needed for the Theme Developer Handbook, so if you are interested in helping, contact @sewmyheadon or @hanni via IRC, attend the weekly meeting on Wednesdays, or leave a comment on this post.

#chat-recap