About the Project #

The WordPress project is a meritocracy, run by a core leadership team, and led by co-founder and lead developer Matt Mullenweg. The team governs all aspects of the project, including core development, WordPress.org, and community initiatives.

Meritocracy #

Trusted contributors and core developers earn their stripes on more than just ability and actions. Leadership roles need to be earned on the basis of professionalism, personality, attitude, and respect among peers.

The best contributors naturally respect and subscribe to the project’s core philosophies. A lack of a personal agenda is paramount: we’re all a part of the same community, and we all share common goals. This doesn’t mean you can’t have an opinion, far from it. The best contributors can balance their opinion with the goals of the project and the perspectives of both users and developers. Offering consistently good suggestions, demonstrating a strong ability to collaborate with others, and being able to accept (and provide) feedback are all important.

You can identify these standards in some of our best core contributors, and that’s why they have strong influence over the project. Final decisions are made by the core team, which in turn has evolved over the life of the project based on merit.

Top ↑

Community Leadership #

The WordPress community is led via two main roads: the Internal Leads and the Community Volunteers. In many areas, such as UI and Support, the Community Leads are the driving force.

Top ↑

The WordPress Core Team #

The WordPress project is led by the core leadership team, which consists of WordPress co-founder Matt Mullenweg, five lead developers, and eight core developers with permanent commit access.

The lead developers are Helen Hou-Sandi, Dion HulseMark Jaquith, Andrew Nacin, and Andrew Ozz. These developers have final authority on technical decisions, and lead architecture discussions and implementation efforts.

Sergey Biryukov, Jon Cave, Helen Hou-Sandi, Dion Hulse, Drew Jaynes, Daryl Koopersmith, Dominik SchillingScott Taylor, and Peter Westwood are permanent core committers.

Top ↑

Contributing Developers #

WordPress has a number of contributing developers. Some of these are former or current committers, and some are likely future committers. Regardless, these are trusted and veteran contributors to WordPress core who have earned a great deal of respect among their peers.

As needed, WordPress also has guest committers, individuals who are granted commit access, sometimes for a specific component, on a temporary or trial basis. John Blackbourn, Jeremy Felt, Boone B. Gorges, Aaron Jorbin, Konstantin Kovshenin, Gary Pendergast, and Ian Stewart are currently guest committers.

Other contributing developers include Michael Adams, Nikolay Bachiyski, Mike Schroder, Joseph Scott, Andy Skelton, Matt Thomas, Lance Willett, and Samuel Wood.

Top ↑

Core Contributors #

The core and contributing developers only guide WordPress development. Every version, hundreds of developers contribute code to WordPress. These core contributors are volunteers who contribute to the core codebase in some way. All it takes is a single patch to make a difference.

Top ↑

UX and Design #

The design team is made up of core contributors who work on the design and user interface of WordPress.

Ryan Boren leads user experience for 2015. Matt Thomas is the style lead for WordPress. Ben Dunkle is the icon designer.

Top ↑

Support #

The support forums are run by a team of volunteer moderators, who remove spam, handle disputes, and generally keep the peace. They are led primarily by a self-appointed team leader, and everyone is encouraged to jump in.

Top ↑

Documentation #

The Documentation team is responsible for all things documentation, including the Codex, handbooks, developer.wordpress.org, admin help, inline docs, and other general wordsmithing across the WordPress project.

This handbook, and the Codex, are the primary sources of information for learning how to develop, improve, and troubleshoot WordPress. The handbook is curated by a small group of volunteers, while the Codex is open for anyone with a wordpress.org user account to edit.

Top ↑

Mobile #

WordPress applications for mobile devices are open source software, just like the project. There are six applications currently for iOS, Android, BlackBerry, Windows, WebOS, and Nokia platforms. WebOS and Nokia mobile application development has stopped, as the platforms are no longer supported.

The mobile development team consists of Aaron Douglas, Brad Angelcyk, Isaac Keyet, Eric Johnson, Dan Roundhill, Jorge Bernal, Danilo Ercoli, and others. As the projects are open source, anyone can contribute.

Top ↑

Theme Reviewers #

Themes submitted to the WordPress Themes Directory are reviewed by a team of volunteers to ensure compliance with the WordPress.org theme guidelines. The team rep is Jose Castaneda, with Chip Bennett, Emil Uzelac, Edward Caissie, Simon Prosser, Justin Tadlock, Tammie Lister, and many other contributors working on developing standards and reviewing themes.

Top ↑

Plugin Reviewers #

Plugins submitted to the WordPress Plugins Directory are reviewed by a team of volunteers to ensure they meet WordPress.org guidelines before being included in the plugin directory. The team rep is Boone Gorges, with volunteers Pippin Williamson, Scott Reilly, Samuel Wood, Mika Epstein, Kailey Lampert, Daniel Bachhuber, and Mark Riley (Reviewer Emeritus) reviewing plugins and developing standards.

Top ↑

Community Blogs and Communication #

You can get core development updates from the teams above on the Make WordPress blogs, or follow the development process in a variety of other ways.