The Community Deputy Round Table is Coming in June

One of the WordPress Community Support (WPCSWordPress Coding Standards A collection of PHP_CodeSniffer rules (sniffs) to validate code developed for WordPress. It ensures code quality and adherence to coding conventions, especially the official standards for WordPress Core.) team goals for Q1&Q2 is to host an online deputy round table.

On Monday, March 29th, Ryan Marks and I co-hosted a gathering of Advisory Team members to begin shaping ideas and goals for an online Community Deputy Round Table in June 2021.

Project Co-Leads: Kathy Drewien (@kdrewien), Ryan Marks (@rmarks)
Advisory Team: Angela Jin (@angelasjin), Junko Nukaga (@nukaga), Kevin Cristiano (@kcristiano), Mary Job (@mariaojob), Sam Suresh (@samsuresh), and Timi Wahalahti (@sippis)

In alignment with the team goals, and to share ideas and experiences, make connections, and support each other, we hope to achieve the following:

  1. Deepen connections between Deputies and build stronger relationships.
  2. Boost and clarify the role of Deputies within the WordPress community.
  3. Facilitate understanding of how/where/when Deputies can contribute and find support.

Format: Zoom video discussion with small topic-driven breakout rooms
Time investment: 1.5 hours

Doodle Poll for Event Dates

We are offering two times for you to consider. They’re not our traditional split of Asia-Pacific/EMEA and Americas since Ryan and I want to attend and facilitate both meetings. This event would occur at two different times on the same date. The time options have been selected to accommodate as many deputies as possible to attend during typical working hours (0800-1700 in their local time zone).

  • 1200 UTC for Eastern US, Brazil, Europe, Middle East. Africa and Western Asia
    for those from Missouri (0700 CDT) to Nepal (1745 NPT). time.is/compare
  • 2300 UTC for Eastern Asia, Oceania, and Western US
    for those from Japan (0800 JST) to Oregon (1600 PDT). time.is/compare

Action Items for each WPCS Deputy:

  1. Vote for as many options that work well for you no later than April 16 at 1200 UTC.
    https://doodle.com/poll/yemyxrgr2fcm7u2k
  2. Provide us feedback. It’s okay to DM myself (@Kathy Drewien) or Ryan (@rmarks), or share your feedback as a comment on this post..

I’m looking forward to our Community Deputy Round Table conversation!

Conversations are the most powerful learning technology ever invented.
Conversations carry news, create meaning, foster cooperation, and spark innovation.
Open, honest conversations throughout our workspace spreads intellectual capital, improves cooperation, and strengthens personal relationships.  ~ Jay Cross

#team-goals