For tomorrows “Menu” office hours I only have one agenda item: To figure out where we’re headed with menus in 3.6.

The way I see it, we have 3 options:

1) Nacin’s concept

We could push in the direction of Nacin’s concept.

2) The two screen approach

We could go with the two screen approach. Here are a couple of updated screenshots (nothing is finalized):

When you have no menus:

Management screen (default screen you see when you click the “menus” link on the left nav):

Editing a single menu:

Assigning a menu to a theme location (linked to from the management screen, and from the “menu saved” success message):

3) Scale back

The other option is for us to scale back our scope, keep all of the existing structure of the existing menus screen the same, and focus on making minor improvements in copy and flow.

We need to figure out which option we think will work best for users and commit to it before moving forward.

Office hours will be held tomorrow (Thursday) at 21:00 UTC (4:00pm EST, 1:00pm PST) in #wordpress-dev. I hope to see you there.